20 for 20: Celebrating Michigan Illustrators

January 16 through April 19, 2020

Alcoa Foundation Gallery

Amy Young
Untitled – Illustration from A Unicorn Named Sparkle
Pen and ink drawing with gouache on Fabriano Uno paper, 2016
Courtesy of the Artist


In recognition of the artistic talent stemming from within our state, 20 for 20: Celebrating Michigan Illustrators is a curated view of children’s illustrators from across the mitten. We are thrilled to exhibit the work of both nationally recognized household names in children’s literature alongside emerging illustrators from the state. The exhibition is a collaged experience, celebrating the differences within the illustrative process that exemplifies the various ways artists come to create a piece, and challenges the viewer to adjust their definition of what it means to be an illustrator. From paintings, drawings, and collages, to pieces that are entirely digitally rendered, this exhibition celebrates the diversity found amongst illustrators here in Michigan and sets a precedent for beyond.

Jeffrey Brown
Illustration from My Teacher is a Robot (pages 20-21)
Pen and ink drawing on illustration board
Courtesy of the artist

The Artists

Jeffery Brown
Dave Coverly
Lori Eslick
Brianne Farley
Leslie Helakoski
Rebecca Howe
Laurie Keller
Sara Kendall
Amy Nielander
Deb Pilutti
Patricia Polacco
Corinne Roberts
Robert Sabuda
Heidi Woodward Sheffield
David Small
Jane Stoepker
Gijsbert van Frankenhuyzen
Heather Workman
Amy Young
Aaron Zenz

Rebecca Howe
Let’s Go
Acrylic and digital drawing on paper, 2018
Courtesy of the artist


Related Programs

Opening Celebration
Thursday, January 16
5:30 – 7:30 pm
Have a fun family night out and celebrate the Michigan illustrators in 20 for 20. Refreshments will be served. Free public event.

Mark your calendar!
Reception & Book Fair
Thursday April 9
5:30 – 7:30 pm
Join us for a special spring break party and an opportunity to purchase books illustrated by the artists in 20 for 20.


Underwritten by The Folkert Family Foundation and the DTE Foundation.