OUR VOICE: Celebrating the Coretta Scott King Book Awards

March 11 through May 23, 2021

Kathleen Atkins Wilson (1993 Coretta Scott King Award Winner)
The Origin of Life on Earth, Introduction page
Print, 1992

L.C. and Margaret Walker Gallery A

The Coretta Scott King Award is presented annually by the American Library Association (ALA) to African American authors and illustrators of books for children and teens that contribute to an understanding and appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. Our Voice, organized by the National Center for Children’s Illustrated Literature and ALA, features original artworks by past award winners Jerry Pinkney, Ashley Bryan, and Bryan Collier, Leo and Diane Dillon, Kadir Nelson, Sharon Bell Mathis, Nancy Devard, and many others. Our Voice celebrates this important award and explores the ways in which artists can educate and elevate, offering us new perspectives and opening our eyes to the world and the experiences of our neighbors, inviting greater understanding and unity.

John Steptoe (1988 Coretta Scott King Award winner)
Wedding festivities, from Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters: An African Tale
Watercolor on paper, 1987

Underwritten by

Media Sponsor: Blue Lake Public Radio