Muskegon Museum of Art announces plans to expand

Groundbreaking later this year.  Open in 2023.

Two factors are driving the Muskegon Museum of Art (MMA) expansion initiative:
1. There is not sufficient space to display the permanent collection.
2. Touring exhibitions today require larger venues than the MMA has to offer.

The plan is to add three new galleries and two new classroom activity areas, along with support space to meet these challenges and sustain this cultural treasure for generations to come.

The new galleries will increase permanent collection exhibition space by 222% and temporary exhibition space by 60%, making the museum more of a destination rather than a stopover. MMA Executive Director Kirk Hallman points out that “with current exhibition space and rotating the permanent collection twice annually, it would take over 40 years to show the entire collection.”

The MMA Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Frank Bednarek comments, “The Trustees are committed to keeping the Museum alive, well, and relevant for the next 100 years. To do this, we need to expand, grow, and improve the physical plant.”

Elements of Expansion

The MMA’s critical needs include additional gallery space, classrooms, community space, programming space, art storage and work space. Expansion plans include:
Grand hall for major exhibitions

  • Two new galleries for special rotating exhibitions
  • Two new classrooms to support youth educational programs
  • Family activity area
  • New barrier-free entry
  • Additional storage and workshop spaces
  • Expanded space for museum store/visitor services


Help shape the future! We have raised about $7.5 million to date, with a goal to raise $9.9 million to complete the expansion project. The MMA extends the invitation to the public to contribute to the project on the final leg of fundraising at the CAMPAIGN DONATION PAGE or by calling the MMA at (231) 720-2571.

Campaign Cabinet

Jon & Jane Blyth
Larry Hines
Charles E. & Vivian K. Johnson
Robert & Wendy Kersman
John H. Martin
Patrick O’Leary
Marge Potter
Kimberly Van Kampen

Dave Alexander
Beth Beaman
Susan Bednarek
Billie Bruce
Claudia Bryant
E. Jane Connell
Gayle Davis
Friends of Art
Amy Heisser
Erick Johnson
Cindy Larsen
Henry Matthews
Sue Ellen McCreary
MMA Docents
Irene Pierson
Eric Ringelberg
Thomas & Elizabeth Tuttle
Steve & Rebecca Westphal

Sherry Becker
Frank Bednarek*
Claudia Berry*
Nancy Crandall
Anne Dake
Tom DeVoursney
Robert Dubault
Bob Garretson
Kirk Hallman
Judith Hayner*
Trip Johnson*
Catherine Mott
John Pridnia*
Gil Segovia
Josh Silvis
Jonathan Wilson

*Campaign Co-Chairs

Major Campaign Contributors


LEADERSHIP ($1,000,000+)
Van Kampen Boyer Molinari Foundation

PLATINUM ($500,000+)
Steven Alan Bennett & Dr. Elaine Melotti Schmidt
The Hilt Foundation
Patrick O’Leary & Karen Yamasaki
Mrs. Shaw Walker

GOLD ($250,000+)
The Frey Foundation
Hines Corporation (Challenge Match)
Howmet Aerospace Foundation

SILVER ($100,000+)
Andy & Nancy Busard, In Memory of Drs. J. Max & Mary Ellen Busard
Tom DeVoursney
Carol Folkert
Robert & Wendy Kersman
Mike & Kay Olthoff
Shaw & Betty Walker Foundation
The Susan & Frank Bednarek Fund of the Community Foundation for Muskegon County
Gary & Victoria Verplank Estate
Marilyn & Dick Witham

BRONZE ($50,000+)
André Aerne Estate
Dr. Fredrick & Deborah Brown Estate
Michigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairs
Webb Chemical Service Corporation

LEGACY ($25,000+)
William J. Baldridge, In Memory of Luanne Baldridge
Jon & Jane Blyth
Dr. Donald & Nancy Crandall
Robert & Cathleen Dubault
Caron & Floyd Farmer
Judith Hayner & Charlene Romanosky, In Honor of the MMA Foundation Trustees, 1984 – Present
Paul C. Johnson Foundation of the Community Foundation for Muskegon County
Trip & Nina Johnson
John & Jessie Martin
Margaret E. Potter
John & Mary Swanson

PATRON ($10,000+)
John & Claudia Berry
Bob & Heather Garretson Fund of the Community Foundation for Muskegon County
Patricia Flynn
Erick & Holly Johnson
Fred Kraft & Gayle Davis
Rich & Pam Kramer
Brian & Jamie Lang
Steven & Caroline Mayberry
Newkirk Electric Associates, Inc.
Sally A. Peterson
Paul & Evelyn Reid
Susie Rehrer
Sytsema Family Fund of the Community Foundation for Muskegon County
Michael & Patricia Wade
Judy Wilcox
Kenneth & Marguerite Winter
Jan Witt

Joseph & Kris Balaskovitz
Sherry & Stu Becker
John R. Cook, In Honor of Jane E. Leonard & In Memory of Ruth E. Cook
Anne & Allan Dake
Jan Deur & Laura Weaver
Eugene Fethke
Shirley J. Gossett, In Honor of Ronald R. Gossett
Amy & Matt Heisser
Paul & Karen Jackson
Roger & Jeanne Knop
Jerry & Alison Lang
Mark & Bonnie Meengs
Dan & Sharon Moody
Frank & Emma Peterson
John & Michelle Pridnia
Evan & Lois Reinders
Eric & Michele Ringelberg
Don & Elizabeth Jane Rohlck
Michael & Debra Schubert
Shoreline Insurance Agency. Inc.
Peter M. Turner
Mike & Marti Youngdahl

BENEFACTOR ($2,500+)
Charlotte & Bob Chessman
Rich & Nan Klassen
Charles & Lureen Mullally
Josh & Amy Silvis
Ted & Judy Stojak
Marty & Heidi Sytsema

FRIEND ($1,000+)
Charles & Gloria Alstrom
Ted & Francine Anton
Lee Brown & Martha Colburn, In Memory of Kenneth L. Brown
Sherry & Pete Brown
Janet Day, In Memory of John MacLeish Day
Jan & Jim Delaney
Wallace & Jane Ewing
Rick & Holly Hughes
Heather Kettler
Tricia Lamiman
Clara Lang
MMA Staff
Tim & Marian Michalski
Gordon Mudler
Peggy Jensen & Gerald Nehra Fund of the Community Foundation for Muskegon County
John & Marilyn Ruck
Laura Schultz
Thomas & Lynne Spencer
John J. & Sheila G. Steffel
Alan Steinman
Douglas & Jennifer Zwemer